Monday, July 6, 2009

la vita è bella!

I spent my Independence Day in Italy. (: We visited the cities of Sanremo and Dulceacquas. I liked Sanremo, but this might have been just because I thought it was cool that we were in Italy. Ducleacquas was really, really very cool. It made me think of Pirates of the Caribbean because it was full of stone corridors and lots and lots of stairs- there are so many stairs in Italy! They built everything up high so that invaders and pirates couldn't find or get to it. (: The only thing I bought in Italy was a shirt/dress/swimsuit coverup; I'm not entirely sure what this article of clothing is supposed to be, but it's cute and it was 5 Euros. I also bought the requisite postcards for my collection. We had real Italian gelato (yum!), and I am pleased to report that I did try the wine. I made an attempt. (Aud bought everyone a glass of wine.) And it was bitter, as wine is, and I suppressed a yuck-face, and I poured the rest into Elena, Carmella, and Sarah's glasses. Apparently it was very good wine, so I think it's safe to conclude that I do not like wine at all. Not cheap pink wine from Wawa, not Mom's wine, not very nice wine from Italy.


View from the top of Sanremo.


Dolceacquas!

On the 5th, we just hung out at the beach and then sat. Cannes is very pretty, but there's not a lot to do at night unless you plan on staying out really late. I can't go out at night by myself, and most people don't really want to go anywhere. I miss dancing!! Maybe next weekend I'll be able to convince people that they'd rather go dancing than be hermits? If we spend 4 hours in class before lunch, and take the time to do homework and study, shouldn't the rest of the time be vacation? I'm getting tired of the Internet. ): One can only spend so much time on Facebook, really.

No comments:

Post a Comment